NE Gallery Useful Links Gallery
You are here > Home > About Us > Our Structure


Explore the selection of resources and supports available on the website
Read More

Labour Mkt Information

Read More

COVID-19 Information

Read More

IGC Conference 2020

Read More

Our Structure

The Institute of Guidance Counsellors is organised around a Branch structure. 

There are 16 Branches around the country in different geographical regions.

These are: Cork, Clare, Donegal, Dublin North, Dublin West, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny/Carlow, Midlands, Mid West, North East, Sligo, South Dublin/Wicklow, South East and Tipperary.

The Branch will elect it's own Branch Officers: Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer and PRO who will manage the affairs of the Branch.

Each Branch has at least one representative on the National Executive Committee. This is the body which implements motions passed at the Annual General Meeting and manages the affairs of the Institute between AGMs.  The National Executive normally meets at least ten times per year.

There are five executive officers on the National Executive:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • National Secretary
  • National Treasurer
  • National PRO

The National Executive may form Sub-Committees which will carry out certain duties at it's request. The nature, number, composition, and terms of reference of these committees are a matter for determination by the National Executive of the Institute.

The Institute has it's Head Office on Herbert Street in Dublin and has two administrative staff members.